I Mina' Trentai Dos Na Liheslaturan Guåhan Resolutions Log Sheet

Resolution No.	Sponsor	Title	Date Intro	Date of Presentation	Date Referred	Committee / Ofc Referred	Date Adopted
110-32 (LS)	T.R. Muña Barnes,	Relative to Honoring, Recognizing and Expressing an Un Dangko'lo Na Si	4/22/13	5/25/13,			04/22/13
	B. J.F. Cruz,	Yu'os Ma'åse to the Mayors, Vice Mayors, Municipal Planning Councils	9:51 A.M.	7:00pm			
	Frank B. Aguon, Jr.	and Staff During the Mayors' Council of Guam's Thirty-Sixth (36th) Year					
		of Continued Professional and Dedicated Service to the People of Guam.					

I MINA'TRENTAI DOS NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2013 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 110-32 (LS)

Introduced By: T. R. Muña Barnes

B. J.F. Cruz

F. B. Aguon, Jr.

T. C. Ada

V. Anthony Ada

Chris M. Dueñas

Michael T. Limtiaco

Brant T. McCreadie

Tommy Morrison

Vicente (ben) C. Pangelinan

R. J. Respicio

Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.

Michael F. Q. San Nicolas

Aline A. Yamashita, Ph.D.

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to honoring, recognizing and expressing *Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse'* to the Mayors, Vice Mayors, Municipal Planning Councils and Staff during the Mayors' Council of Guam's 36th year of continued professional and dedicated service to the people of Guam.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'TRENTAI DOS NA LIHESLATURAN 2 GUÅHAN:

- 3 WHEREAS, the Mayors' Council of Guam, formerly known as the
- 4 Commissioners' Council of Guam (the former Village Commissioner System), is
- 5 considered one of the oldest forms of representative self-government on Guam; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the Mayors' Council of Guam was established on May 26, 1977,
- 7 through the enactment of Public Law 14-27, in an effort to establish a cohesive group

1 of district leaders and administrators capable of effectuating intergovernmental

communication towards the implementation of sound administrative and fiscal

policies aimed at improving the quality of life for the residents of Guam; and

WHEREAS, the Mayors' Council of Guam is comprised of all the Mayors and Vice Mayors, with an administrative support staff, including an Executive Director who is responsible for ensuring the effective and efficient discharge of the Council's duties and responsibilities, as prescribed by law; and

WHEREAS, since the enactment of Public Law 14-27, the responsibilities and authorities of our village Mayors have evolved in the past 36 years, whereby it is common knowledge that other elected leaders and other government officials yield to our village Mayors in seeking out what the people from their respective villages desire

12 for the betterment of their community; and

WHEREAS, the First (1st) Commissioners' Council of Guam (now known as

the Mayors' Council of Guam) Officers consisted of †Commissioner Juan N. Perez of

Santa Rita (President); †Assistant Commissioner Francisco N. Lizama of Sinajana

16 (Vice President); Commissioner Antonio C. Babauta of Agat (Secretary);

Commissioner David B. Salas of Piti (Treasurer); and †Commissioner Albert T.

18 Topasna of *Umatac* (Sergeant-at-Arms); and

19 WHEREAS, the 36th Mayors' Council of Guam Officers consists of Mayor

Paul M. McDonald of Agana Heights (President); Mayor Robert R.D.C. Hofmann of

21 Sinajana (Vice President); Mayor Carol S. Tayama of Agat (Secretary); Mayor June

U. Blas of Barrigada (Treasurer); and Mayor John A. Cruz of Hagåtña (Sergeant-at-

23 Arms); and

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

13

14

15

17

20

24

25

26

WHEREAS, today, Mayors are not just the custodians of their jurisdiction that maintain a clean and beautiful neighborhood. Our Mayors have been granted the authority to act as Peace Officers to assist in maintaining law and order; the authority

1	to issue citations for the violations of sanitary, health, litter and leash laws in their							
2	villages; as well as the authority to solemnize marriages, to name a few; and							
3	WHEREAS, throughout its 36 years following the former Village							
4	Commissioner System, the Mayors' Council of Guam has become a vital component							
5	of Guam's democratic foundation and continues to serve the needs of a growing and							
6	diverse island community; and							
7	WHEDEAS I Liberlatures Cuellan also wishes to honor and recognize all of							

WHEREAS, I Liheslaturan Guåhan also wishes to honor and recognize all of our retired and former Mayors and Vice Mayors, who are either still with us or who have passed on, and express *Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse'* to them for their dedicated and professional service to our people; now therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that *I Mina'Trentai Dos Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, honor, recognize and express *Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse'* to the Mayors, Vice Mayors, Municipal Planning Councils and Staff during the Mayors' Council of Guam's 36th year of continued professional and dedicated service to the people of Guam; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to all the Mayors and Vice Mayors of Guam; to the Mayors' Council of Guam Administrative Office; and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, *I Maga'låhen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'TRENTAI DOS NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THIS 22ND DAY OF APRIL 2013.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D. Speaker

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES
Legislative Secretary